College of Natural Sciences Colorado State University Department of Psychology

Applied Social and Health Psychology Faculty

Patricia A. Aloise-Young
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (970) 491-6941
PhD: University of Florida, 1990
Area of Specialization: energy conservation; adolescent cigarette smoking; social influence, normative interventions
Web Page: NA
Email: Patricia.Aloise-Young@colostate.edu

Silvia Sara Canetto
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-5415
PhD: Doctor of Psychology, Experimental/Physiological Psychology, University of Padua, Italy; Ph.D., Clinical Psychology, Older Adult Program, Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago, IL.
Area of Specialization: Gender, culture and science. Diversity (i.e., gender, sexual orientation, age, social class, physical health/ability, culture, nationality) issues in suicidal behaviors and hastened death. Diversity issues in aging and end-of-life.
Web Page: NA
Email: Silvia.Canetto@colostate.edu

Daniel Graham
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: (970) 491-4622
PhD: University of California, Irvine 2009
Area of Specialization: Health Psychology; Nutrition Labeling; Physical Activity Promotion; Eye Tracking; Social Ecological Influences on Physical Activity and Healthy Eating
Web Page: NA
Email: dan.graham@colostate.edu

Jennifer Jill Harman
Title: Associate Professor, Applied Social program coordinator
Phone: (970) 491-1529
PhD: University of Connecticut 2005
Area of Specialization: Intimate relationships, psychosocial factorsinvolved with HIV and other infectious disease risk behaviors,medical adherence theory and intervention, social status, andhealth.
Web Page: NA
Email: Jennifer.Harman@ColoState.edu

Kimberly Henry
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: (970) 491-5109
PhD: The Pennsylvania State University (December, 2002) - Biobehavioral Health
Area of Specialization: School disengagement, adolescent and young adult development, drug use, delinquency, longitudinal methodology
Web Page: NA
Email: kim.henry@colostate.edu

Lorann Stallones
Title: Professor, CICRC Director
Phone: (970) 491-6156
PhD: 1982, The University of Texas School of Public Health
Area of Specialization: Epidemiology of agricultural health, rural injuries, and injuries among underserved populations.
Web Page: https://www.facebook.com/Colorado-Injury-Control-Research-Center-CICRC-126611487394898/timeline/
Email: Lorann.Stallones@colostate.edu

Michael Steger
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-7324
PhD: Counseling Psychology; Personality Psychology, University of Minnesota, 2005.
Area of Specialization: Understanding well-being and meaning in life, psychological predictors of physical health and health-risk behaviors, facilitators and benefits of engaging in meaningful work.
Web Page: http://www.michaelfsteger.com/
Email: Michael.F.Steger@colostate.edu

Randall C Swaim
Title: Research Scientist
Phone: (970) 491-6961
PhD: Colorado State University
Area of Specialization: Cross-cultural substance use,quantitative methodology, ethics
Web Page: NA
Email: randall.swaim@colostate.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Karen Barrett Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-7382
PhD: University of Denver
Area of Specialization: Emotional Development
Email: karen.barrett@colostate.edu

Frederick Beauvais Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-6828
PhD: Colorado State University
Area of Specialization: Adolescence,drug abuse,delinquency,ethnic minority population
Email: fred.beauvais@colostate.edu

Zeynep Biringen Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-5514
PhD: University of California, Berkeley
Area of Specialization: Attachment,emotional availability,substance abusing mothers and their children,divorce,military families
Email: biringen@cahs.colostate.edu

Manfred Diehl Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-1767
PhD: The Pennsylvania State University
Area of Specialization: Social-emotional development across the adult lifespan; stress and coping in adulthood and old age; developmental research methods.
Email: manfred.diehl@colostate.edu

Ruth W Edwards Research Scientist
Title: Research Scientist
Phone:
PhD: Colorado State University
Area of Specialization: Drug use, Deviance,Prevention, Violence and victimization
Email: ruth.edwards@colostate.edu

Christine A Fruhauf Assistant Professor
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: (970) 491-1118
PhD: Virginia Polytechnic and State University
Area of Specialization: Grandparent-Grandchild relationships, family caregiving for older adults, quality of long term care for individuals who have dementia, and satisfaction in later life
Email: cfruhauf@cahs.colostate.edu

Thao N Le Assistant Professor
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: (970) 491-2804
PhD: University of California
Area of Specialization: Acculturation and youth delinquency/violence,cross-cultural development, community-based participatory research and evaluation,wisdom
Email: tle@cahs.colostate.edu

David Macphee Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-5503
PhD: University of North Carolina
Area of Specialization: Social Development, parenting, early intervention
Email: david.macphee@colostate.edu

Eugene R Oetting Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-1615
PhD: University of Wisconsin
Area of Specialization: Drug use,deviance,prevention,cultural identification
Email: goetting@lamar.colostate.edu

Pamela J Thurman Research Associate
Title: Research Associate
Phone: (970) 491-0251
PhD: Oklahoma State University
Area of Specialization: American Indian Cultural Issues, Women's Concerns, drug use,prevention,violence and victimization
Email: pjthurman@aol.com

Raymond K Yang Professor
Title: Professor
Phone: (970) 491-5718
PhD: Cornell
Area of Specialization: Infant development, at-risk youth
Email: raymond.k.yang@colostate.edu
Online Psychology Degrees and Courses Support our College by Donation